Projekte

MOBSTER

Analysis of the potential to detect vegetation associations at waterways using RapidEye satellite imagery

R&D-project in cooperation with the Federal Institute of Hydrology (BfG) and Technische Universität Berlin (Department of Geoinformation Processing for Landscape and Environmental Planning)


The active satellite system RapidEye, in service since 2009, is able to collect multispectral images flexibly and with high temporal resolution and is a possible less expensive alternative for the high-priced airborne imagery which is applied so far. Using the RapidEye data, which is nationwide available for government agencies, it is possible to apply the experiences and concepts from estuarine research to further areas as coasts and mainland. The technical and professional evaluation of the potential of the vegetation analysis using RapidEye images along the waterways is in focus.

Satellitenbild "Untere Havel"

Satellite image “Untere Havel”

Klassifikationsergebnis

classification result

Satellite imagery enables an objective large-scale observation of the network of significant vegetation structure, particularly of categories in deficit. The detection of habitat structures of drainage systems and their development and therefore the possibility of specific intervention for the improvement of compensation measures are essential aspects for ensuring the permeability of rivers for migratory fishes und thus scientific basis for the implementation of political agreements according to the European Water Framework Directive (WFD).

Aim is to establish a vegetation inventory for waterways by classification of satellite images. This information and hence conveyed changes of vegetation structure diversity as the dynamics of development of habitats of the European Unions Habitats Directive as well as stocks of neophytes are providing an essential background which is required for the challenge to ensure a long-term ecological development of the traffic carrier “federal waterways” and to implement the requirements of the WFD by identifying and pointing out changes and deficiencies and therewith the basics for improved forecasts can be developed.

Projekte

MOBSTER

Analyse des Erfassungspotenzials von Vegetationseinheiten an Bundeswasserstraßen mittels multispektraler RapidEye-Satellitendaten

F&E-Projekt in Kooperation mit der Bundesanstalt für Gewässerkunde (BfG) und der Technischen Universität Berlin (Fachgebiet Geoinformationsverarbeitung in der Landschafts- und Umweltplanung)

Das seit 2009 aktive Satellitensystem RapidEye ist in der Lage flexibel und hochauflösend multispektrale Daten zu erfassen und stellt somit eine mögliche günstigere Alternative zu den bisher verwendeten, sehr kostenintensiven Luftbilddaten dar. Mittels der den Behörden bundesweit zur Verfügung stehenden RapidEye-Daten ist es nun möglich, die Erfahrungen und Konzepte aus der Ästuarforschung auf weitere Bereiche sowohl an der Küste als auch im Binnenland zu übertragen. Die technische und fachliche Evaluierung des Potenzials der vegetationskundlichen Auswertung der RapidEye-Daten entlang der Bundeswasserstraßen steht hier im Zentrum des Interesses.

Satellitenbild "Untere Havel"

Satellitenbild “Untere Havel”

Klassifikationsergebnis

Klassifikationsergebnis

Satellitendaten ermöglichen die großräumige Betrachtung in Form von objektivierbaren Bestandsdaten hinsichtlich der Vernetzung relevanter Strukturen, vor allem von defizitären Bereichen. Das Erkennen von Habitatstrukturen der Flusssysteme sowie deren Entwicklung und somit die Möglichkeit des zielgerichteten Eingreifens zur Verbesserung, auch aufgrund von Kompensationsmaßnahmen, sind wesentliche Aspekte für die Sicherstellung der Durchgängigkeit der Flüsse für wandernde Fische und somit fachliche Grundlage für die Umsetzung von politischen Vereinbarungen nach der WRRL (Wasserrahmenrichtlinie).

Ziel ist es, durch Klassifizierungen von Satellitendaten vegetationskundliche Inventarisierungen für die Bundeswasserstraßen zu erstellen. Diese Daten und daraus abzuleitende Veränderungen der Strukturvielfalt der Vegetationsklassen sowie die Entwicklungsdynamiken sowohl von FFH-Lebensräumen als auch von Neophytenbeständen stellen nötige Grundlagen zur Verfügung, die für die Aufgabe, eine langfristige ökologische Entwicklung des Verkehrsträgers „Bundeswasserstraße“ zu gewährleisten und die Anforderungen der WRRL umzusetzen, benötigt werden, indem Entwicklungen und Defizite erkannt und aufgezeigt werden und damit auch die Grundlagen für verbesserte Prognosen erstellt werden können.